Switch Currency:

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud YouTube

My Bag

→ You have 0 item(s), £0.00

Title / Format Qty Price
  • Artists

  • Labels
  • Mailing List
  • Name
  • Email

Payment By RBS

Payment By Paypal





Forgot Password?

Email Address

Archipelago Remixes Part 2
~ Hidden Orchestra

  • Label: Tru Thoughts
  • Cat Number: TRU291

* + free album MP3 download.


Arrow Icon A1 - Seven Hunters (Dam Mantle Mix)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon B1 - Flight (Mungos Hi Fi Remix)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon C1 - Disquiet (Floex Remix)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon D1 - Spoken (submerse Remix)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon Spoken (KRTS Remix) [Digital Only]Buy MP3 £0.50


2 X 10'' Ltd Hidden Orchestra - Archipelago Remixes Part 2

Check out the first Hidden Orchestra Remixes double 10inch HERE

“This Edinburgh four piece are onto something”Q

“Akin to a Hebridean Portishead… sleek” – INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY

“One mighty creation… an eclectic and immersive soundscape”– CLASH

“a heady yet moody mix…they should go far” – DJ MAG

“Massive remixes… mind-bending” – RECORD COLLECTOR                                   …selected praise for Hidden Orchestra

Out 12th May, the second in the Archipelago Remixes EP series brings more stunning new versions of tracks from Hidden Orchestra’s second album, ‘Archipelago’. Established and rising stars - Dam Mantle, Mungo’s Hi Fi, Floex, submerse and KRTS – work their magic on producer and band-leader Joe Acheson’s original productions, across two 10” records in a hand-stamped and numbered sleeve, limited to 500 units worldwide.

The first Archipelago Remixes EP, which dropped in 2013, gained major props from the likes of Record Collector, Clash, The Line Of Best Fit, DJ Mag, Urb and more, quickly flying off the shelves; the Edinburgh based outfit have since continued to push forwards, with developments including a new live AV show which saw them sell out venues including London’s Scala. In anticipation of the next EP, Acheson hascrafted the immersive Archipelago Remixes Mixtape’, recently premiered by The 405, with Part 2 to follow soon. Testament to an incredible musical mind, his Hidden Orchestra studio mixes have had 100,000+ streams to date, gaining in adulation with each instalment.

Opening the first 10” is “Seven Hunters (Dam Mantle Mix)”, which brings a noir-ish intensity to the original, a firm fan favourite. The Glasgow based Notown/Wichita signed producer re-programmes the original drums, creating a sense of space and suspense, and eliciting admiration from Acheson, whose heavily layered organic beats are an integral part of the stirring Hidden Orchestra sound, even requiring two kits in the live show: “it's the kind of way I treat drum recordings in my own work, so it's really nice to hear it done to my drum tracks”.

“Flight (Mungo's Hi Fi Remix)” sees an eagerly awaited hook-up with the Scottish crew, of whom Acheson has long been a fan, having partied at - and played on - Mungos’ legendary soundsystem at Knockengorroch Festival. Here they transform the intricate, folk-influenced “Flight” (which boasts almost a million soundcloud plays) for a bass-heavy dub dancefloor, while skilfully retaining snapshots of the original orchestration and atmosphere. 

“Disquiet (Floex Remix)” finds Floex returning the favour for a Hidden Orchestra mix of his own latest single. This charged, hypnotic version shows the dancier, more electronic side of the Czech clarinettist and producer’s work; twisting and heightening existing sounds, not least the heavenly harp solo, for an epic effect. Floex’s second official Hidden Orchestra remix, this adds to a growing list of joint ventures from these two like-minded creators.

Two artists fromBerlin’sProject Mooncircle label - London based submerse,and Brooklyn’s KRTS (the latter with a  bonus digital cut)remix “Spoken”, each ramping up the strikingly percussive intro and spiralling down a different yet equally fascinating experimental electronic bass music path.

Following their well-received debut, ‘Night Walks’, Hidden Orchestra’s 2012 ‘Archipelago’ LPgained heavy press support, including Q, Clash, The Independent, BBC Music, The Scotsman and Wax Poetics. This mesmerising music also hooked daytime and specialist BBC 6Music tastemakers including Stuart Maconie, Lauren Laverne, Gilles Peterson and Cerys Matthews;plus BBC R1 Introducing, John Kennedy (XFM), Late Junction (BBC R3) and Jamie Cullum (BBC R2). The brainchild of producer and composer Acheson, Hidden Orchestra is a studio project of distinction and depth, utilising an array of sonic sources alongside a boundless range of instruments. In the live arena the music is taken to a new sphere - the core quartet formed around the duelling drum kits, percussion and electronic pads of Tim Lane and Jamie Graham, completed by Poppy Ackroyd’s violin and piano and Acheson’s bass and original samples – and their electrifying shows have cemented them firmly in the minds of a growing fanbase.

Stay In Touch

If you would like to be notified of new releases from Hidden Orchestra, insert your email:

More From Hidden Orchestra

  • Still Image
  • Night Walks Image
  • Night Walks Image
  • Flight E.P [2x10inch] Image
  • Flight E.P [1x10inch] Image
  • Flight E.P [digital] Image
  • Vorka / Spoken Image
  • Archipelago Image
  • Archipelago (LP) Image
  • Fourth Wall / The Revival Image
  • Archipelago Remixes Image
  • Reorchestrations (180g Vinyl) Image
  • Reorchestrations (CD) Image
  • Wingbeats Image
  • Dawn Chorus Image
  • Dawn Chorus Image
  • Dawn Chorus Bundle Image
  • News & Tweets