Switch Currency:

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud YouTube

My Bag

→ You have 0 item(s), £0.00

Title / Format Qty Price
  • Artists

  • Labels
  • Mailing List
  • Name
  • Email

Payment By RBS

Payment By Paypal





Forgot Password?

Email Address

Ghost Town / Steamin Blues (Japanese Special Edition)
~ Hot 8 Brass Band

  • Label: Tru Thoughts
  • Cat Number: TRU7268


Arrow Icon Ghost TownBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon Steamin BluesBuy MP3 £0.50



This is Hot 8’s first new material since their acclaimed debut (2007’s ‘Rock With The Hot 8’,featuring their famous cover of “Sexual Healing”) put them on the global stage. In the years since - alongside their regular US headline shows, parades and community projects - the group have supported the likes of Mos Def, Lauryn Hill and Mary J Blige live, and played several international tours taking in Glastonbury festival, Roskilde and more. Highly respected among fellow musicians, they have guested on albums by the Blind Boys of Alabama and Basement Jaxx. Having appeared in Spike Lee’s original post-Katrina documentary When the Levees Broke, Hot 8 also featured in the follow-up, When the Creek Don’t Rise; and HBO recently included their remarkable story in the hit Treme television series.

Hot 8 is a band with stories to tell. Neither fairytales nor melodramas, but simple, often hard truths: the lives and the times of the band’s eight full-time members, including the violent and untimely deaths of several of their peers, and the hurricane devastation and aftermath in their city. In addition to their affinity with their instruments, Hot 8 Brass Band boast a rare depth of vocal talent to illuminate their tales, and ‘The Life And Times Of…’ finds them exploring this further; switching from commanding, funky lead vocals, to rapped verses laid down with passion and skill, to melodic hooks and harmonies - from emotive, gravelly baritones through instinctively whooped falsettos - with abandon.

The lead single, “Ghost Town” / “Let Me Do My Thing” is out now, with heavy support including Gilles Peterson (BBC 6Music), Huey Morgan (BBC 6Music) and John Kennedy (XFM); on the cover version, Hot 8 honour the party lilt and ominous message of The Specials’ original in a joyful, bittersweet jam that transposes the poignancy of the song onto the streets of their hometown. The AA side finds sometime band-member Tyrus Chapman expressing the story of his past relationship with heroin, and the hypocritical judgment he faced from others, and how he has now turned his life around without their help. His charismatic vocal is joined by raps from Big Al Huntley and Shamarr Allen.

“Can’t Hide From The Truth” was written by Hot 8 trumpeter Raymond Williams as a message to New Orleans police who killed the band member Joseph Williams under controversial circumstances that remain unresolved. During the song a celebration of life emerges. Album opener “Steamin’ Blues” was in fact created by Joseph Williams himself, having stated, “I’m going to make a song that they will play at Mardi Gras every year.” As a poignant tribute to Joe and his aspirations to immortality, the band picked this beautiful piece to lead the album. “Bingo Bango”, a house track that pulsates with New Orleans street energy at the hands of Hot 8, is a nod to their collaborative past with Basement Jaxx, and along with the other cover on this album – both expressions of global-scope dissatisfaction with greed, inefficacy and violence - it also resonates with Hot 8’s social focus and tenacity. Together, these tracks and the band that honour them here have stood the test of time. The album inlay features images by Banksy, whose New Orleans artworks resonate with this music that fills the same streets.

‘The Life And Times Of…’ is itself the first part of a two album project; showcasing the party side of the band, it is packed with joyful grooves to get feet moving. The next instalment – to follow in Spring 2013 accompanied by live dates in the UK and Europe - will be more reflective, an emotional tribute to fallen band members and the funeral parades which centre on this music. “These records will celebrate the times we have had both before and after the storm. Burying our dead and letting their spirits soar, celebrating our city and the lives that our band mates have lived individually and collectively as Hot 8,” explains band leader and tuba playerBennie Pete.   

Stay In Touch

If you would like to be notified of new releases from Hot 8 Brass Band, insert your email:

More From Hot 8 Brass Band

  • Sexual Healing Image
  • Rock With The Hot 8 Image
  • Ghost Town / Let Me Do My Thing Image
  • Life And Times Of... Image
  • Tombstone (CD) Image
  • Milwaukee Fat Image
  • Whats My Name? Image
  • Homies / Bingo Bango Image
  • Hot 8 Remixes Image
  • Vicennial - 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band (CD) Image
  • Vicennial - 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band (Vinyl) Image
  • Papa Was A Rolling Stone / We Will Walk Through The Streets Of The City Image
  • Sexual Healing Remixes Image
  • Sexual Healing (Record Store Day 12 Image
  • Can
  • Working Together / Keepin
  • On The Spot Image
  • On The Spot Image
  • Bottom Of The Bucket Image
  • News & Tweets