Switch Currency:

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud YouTube

My Bag

→ You have 0 item(s), £0.00

Title / Format Qty Price
  • Artists

  • Labels
  • Mailing List
  • Name
  • Email

Payment By RBS

Payment By Paypal





Forgot Password?

Email Address

Fourth Wall / The Revival
~ Hidden Orchestra

  • Label: Tru Thoughts
  • Cat Number: TRUDD069


Arrow Icon Fourth WallBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon The RevivalBuy MP3 £0.50


“Fourth Wall” / “The Revival”, out on 25th February, is the new single from Edinburgh’s Hidden Orchestra, following the release of their highly acclaimed second album, ‘Archipelago’, on Tru Thoughts. This digital double A side features one stunning cut from the LP, and lifts the lid on a previously unreleased track.

Since its release in late 2012, ‘Archipelago’ has gained heavy support from press including Q, Clash, The Independent, BBC Music, The Scotsman, The Line of Best Fit & Wax Poetics. This mesmerising music has also found fans in daytime and specialist radio tastemakers alike, with play from Stuart Maconie, Lauren Laverne, Cerys Matthews, Nemone and Huey Morgan on BBC 6; Ally McCrae (BBC R1), John Kennedy (XFM), Goldierocks, Gilles Peterson, Late Junction (BBC R3) & Jamie Cullum (BBC R2).

This single highlights “Fourth Wall”, one of the bouncier, more pacey tracks from the album, with an immediacy that grabs attention right from the punchy intro. “The Revival” is now being given a first official release due to popular demand, having been an integral, crowd-pleasing part of Hidden Orchestra’s many live shows. The latter track in fact started life as a remix for erstwhile Liverpool band Kinetic Fallacy, and this version still features the writers of the original - Hannah Peel (now signed to Domino as  The Magnetic North) on violin, and Emma Welsby (a respected Manchester drum & bass producer) on vibraphone.

The brainchild of producer and composer Acheson (also a Sony Award-nominated radio presenter and producer), Hidden Orchestra is a studio project of great distinction and depth, utilising an array of sonic sources including found sounds and field recordings, alongside sampled live instrumentation on a boundless range of instruments. In the live arena the music is taken to a new sphere; the core live quartet is formed around the duelling drum kits, percussion and electronic pads of two drummers, Tim Lane and Jamie Graham, completed by Poppy Ackroyd’s multi-faceted violin and piano playing and Acheson’s bass and original samples. Sometimes joined onstage by contributors including revered Scottish musicians Su-a Lee, Fraser Fifield and Phil Cardwell, this 'hidden' orchestra swells on occasion to 10 musicians. 

The intricate yet viscerally emotive and energetic sound of Hidden Orchestra has won a diverse fanbase, from bass and hip hop heads to classical aficionados to indie and rock fans. Over two albums, Hidden Orchestra have built an organic buzz as they have toured almost non-stop through over 25 countries in addition to support stints for the likes of Bonobo. 2012 saw them playing a busy festival season (for which they were highlighted in the Independent On Sunday’s ‘Sounds Of The Summer’) as well as their first ever dates in Africa and Scandinavia. Constantly in demand, they now head back out on the road for another large scale UK and European tour from late January through to March (full dates listed overleaf).

To celebrate the upcoming tour and single, Acheson will soon be releasing another of his stunning mixtapes – a series of elaborate studio creations giving an insight into his eclectic influences and singular musical sensibility, each of which so far has gained tens of thousands of hits.

Stay In Touch

If you would like to be notified of new releases from Hidden Orchestra, insert your email:

More From Hidden Orchestra

  • Still Image
  • Night Walks Image
  • Night Walks Image
  • Flight E.P [2x10inch] Image
  • Flight E.P [1x10inch] Image
  • Flight E.P [digital] Image
  • Vorka / Spoken Image
  • Archipelago Image
  • Archipelago (LP) Image
  • Archipelago Remixes Image
  • Archipelago Remixes Part 2 Image
  • Reorchestrations (180g Vinyl) Image
  • Reorchestrations (CD) Image
  • Wingbeats Image
  • Dawn Chorus Image
  • Dawn Chorus Image
  • Dawn Chorus Bundle Image
  • News & Tweets