Switch Currency:

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud YouTube

My Bag

→ You have 0 item(s), £0.00

Title / Format Qty Price
  • Artists

  • Labels
  • Mailing List
  • Name
  • Email

Payment By RBS

Payment By Paypal





Forgot Password?

Email Address

Dawn Chorus Bundle
~ Hidden Orchestra

  • Label: Tru Thoughts
  • Cat Number: TRU343X

* + free album MP3 download.


Arrow Icon First LightBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon Western IslesBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon StillBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon The LizardBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon Long OrchardBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon AlythBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon WingbeatsBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon SerpentineBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon StoneBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon East London StreetBuy MP3 £0.50


* All orders will ship on or before June 9th, 2017. If you would like additional items shipped before this date, please place two separate orders. Thank you! *

*Please note click BUY £35.00 to purchase the Limited Edtion Bundle*

'Dawn Chorus' Limited Edition Bundle


“You could just listen to that forevermore, couldn’t you?”  


“Out of this world” – THE LINE OF BEST FIT

“Absolutely fantastic” – CERYS MATTHEWS (BBC 6MUSIC)

“Incredible” – Nemone (BBC 6MUSIC)

On Hidden Orchestra's eagerly anticipated third album, 'Dawn Chorus', producer and composer Joe Acheson conjures an intricate yet expansive world of sound, built around a collection of birdsong and other field recordings captured over many years in diverse locations around the UK and abroad. Rich in detail and character, these snapshots intertwine with bass, drums, percussion and eclectic instruments - including piano, electro-harp, zither, Turkish mey and cello - for an emotive and transporting listen that Acheson describes as “a kind of personal audio diary, time capsule or memoir”.

Each track on the album is set to a different one of Acheson’s dawn chorus recordings, these magical snippets of nature providing effects both percussive and melodic, and sparking evocative journeys. Album opener “First Light” features the first ever full dawn chorus that Acheson recorded, on a 5am walk in December 2009 amid a blanket of crisp snow. “Listening to an old field recording is like looking at an old photo”, says Acheson; “Close your eyes, and you're immediately transported to the time and place you made it. I remember exactly how I felt and what I was doing, who I was with, my full surroundings”. 

All the elements of this deeply personal album draw links to Acheson’s past travels, homes and projects in some way. A dripping drainpipe in Innsbruck, an extractor fan in Tallinn, and wildlife in the Outer Hebrides, sit alongside cutlery, crockery and a fizzing gin and tonic in Brighton. Excerpts from sessions with many musicians include core Hidden Orchestra players Poppy AckroydTim Lane and Jamie Graham, as well as harpist Mary MacMaster, cellist Su-a Lee, and clarinettist Floex, their influences ranging from Shetland folk music to abstract experimental soundtrack work. 


This EXTREMELY LIMITED EDITION 'Dawn Chorus' bundle includes:

  • Limited edition ultra-clear black/white blob 2 x 12” LP + download card. Housed in a beautiful gatefold sleeve. The album’s artwork comes courtesy of Norman Ackyroyd (CBE, RA), who’s stunning prints have graced all the covers of Hidden Orchestra albums and whose artwork can be found in the Tate, The British Museum and The Natioinal Gallery of Art, Washington. Signed by Hidden Orchestra.
  • Limited edition 10” vinyl of Source Materials. Housed in a hand numbered black reverse board sleeve. Signed by Hidden Orchestra.
  • Accompanying Source Materials 24-page booklet revealing the origins of each recording. Printed on a high end paper stock and hand numbered.
  • CD housed in a triple gatefold digi-file sleeve.


A1. First Light

A2. Western Isles

A3. Still

B1. The Lizard

B2. Long Orchard

B3. Alyth

C1. Wingbeats

C2. Serpentine

D1. Stone

D2. East London Street

Stay In Touch

If you would like to be notified of new releases from Hidden Orchestra, insert your email:

More From Hidden Orchestra

  • Still Image
  • Night Walks Image
  • Night Walks Image
  • Flight E.P [2x10inch] Image
  • Flight E.P [1x10inch] Image
  • Flight E.P [digital] Image
  • Vorka / Spoken Image
  • Archipelago Image
  • Archipelago (LP) Image
  • Fourth Wall / The Revival Image
  • Archipelago Remixes Image
  • Archipelago Remixes Part 2 Image
  • Reorchestrations (180g Vinyl) Image
  • Reorchestrations (CD) Image
  • Wingbeats Image
  • News & Tweets