Switch Currency:

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud YouTube

My Bag

→ You have 0 item(s), £0.00

Title / Format Qty Price
  • Artists

  • Labels
  • Mailing List
  • Name
  • Email

Payment By RBS

Payment By Paypal





Forgot Password?

Email Address

Generation EP
~ Peshay

  • Label: Tru Thoughts
  • Cat Number: TRUDD099


Arrow Icon SevilleBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon Midnight ExpressBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon Kickin It With The Piano TrioBuy MP3 £0.50


Following a string of celebrated releases for the likes of Island and Metalheadz, drum ‘n’ bass legend Peshay turns his midas touch to live funk, jazz and tropical compositions in a vibrant new direction on his first album for Tru Thoughts. The “Generation” EP, out on 4th November, lifts the lid on three tracks ahead of the full album of the same name, which follows in December.

EP opener, “Seville”, brings a carnivalesque, Latin-inspired sound; at seven-plus minutes, and with strong instrumental hooks, punchy production and a stripped back simplicity it is an out-and-out party tune.

Coming over like a lost ‘70s film soundtrack, “Midnight Express” takes things in a decidedly funk-fuelled direction; cutting together archive session recordings from live musicians at various times, Peshay has managed to create the suspenseful, driving frisson of a tight group of players jamming live and in-the-moment.

“Kickin’ It With The Piano Trio” is a live, expressive freeform jazz jam that spirals into a snaking, swinging groove with propulsive drums. The impeccable musicianship comes care of Munich-based funk/jazz group Tounion, whom Peshay approached with collaboration in mind after hearing them in a club and being blown away.

Inspired by his lifelong love of all sorts of sounds from jazz and disco to funk, house and Latin American music, this new material finds the London based producer using only live musicians, each of whom bring a little of their own style, and creating an evocative world within each track. While some of his previous releases – most notably his highly acclaimed 1999 debut LP ‘Miles From Home’ - hint at this wider spectrum of influences, this is the first time that Peshay has produced a full album that gives no clues as to his drum ‘n’ bass stalwart status.

“Maybe it will be a shock for some people,” says Paul Pesce, the man behind the moniker; “but I love different styles and don't want to only make drum and bass. Tru Thoughts is a fantastic platform for me to express myself in a different way, and I look forward very much to doing more eclectic productions, as well as more drum and bass albums in future.”

From his first big DJ break at Bass Box in April ’91, Peshay's rise through the rave and drum 'n' bass scenes was meteoric. The excitement that he generates in a crowd reflects his own energy: hyperactive, talkative and passionate. His first recordings – hook-ups with the infamous Bay B Kane and then Bizzy B - lit up the rave scene in 1992, leading to many collaborations including work with the likes of LTJ Bukem, and a prolific solo output.

After an illness which took him out of DJing and producing for nearly two years, Peshay’s comeback session, in 1995 at the Metalheadz Bluenote Club, was a euphoric personal moment and is still talked about today; and he re-established himself with releases including ‘Psychosis’, ‘Predator’, ‘On The Nile’ and a host of remixes for Metalheadz. Signed by James Lavelle to Mo’ Wax in late 1995, Peshay locked himself away to work on his debut album, but with merger madness all around, found himself on Ross Allen’s Island Blue Records to release ‘Miles From Home’ in 1999. Winning the Drum ‘n’ Bass category at the 2001 DJ Awards at Pacha Ibiza was yet another career highlight, as was the highly acclaimed ‘Fuzion’ album on his own Cubik Music label. Peshay’s remix credits, including Galliano, Jay Dee, John Coltrane, LTJ Bukem, Photek, Carl Craig, Goldie, Ingrid Schroeder, DJ Die, DJ Shadow and Courtney Pine, make for an impressive catalogue of quality dance tracks over the last 22 years.

In March 2013, Peshay’s ‘Funkster EP’ on V Recordings, made waves in the drum ‘n’ bass scene as well as crossing over into other genres, displaying his versatility. In addition to inking a deal with Tru Thoughts, this year has also found him setting up his own new label, Peshay Music, for other projects on the horizon.

Stay In Touch

If you would like to be notified of new releases from Peshay, insert your email:


  • Tru Thoughts 2016 Image
  • Once Upon A Time & Tru Thoughts EP Image
  • Tru Thoughts 8GB USB Flash Drive Image
  • Tru Thoughts 15th Anniversary Boxset Image
  • On The Spot Image
  • 2016 Tru Thoughts Mug (Black) Image
  • Whos That Girl? Image
  • Creation (East LA) feat. Jimetta Rose (Quantic Tour Vinyl) Image
  • Sharp And Ready Compilation  Image
  • Reorchestrations (CD) Image
  • 2016 Tru Thoughts Mug (Green) Image
  • News & Tweets