Switch Currency:

Twitter Facebook Soundcloud YouTube

My Bag

→ You have 0 item(s), £0.00

Title / Format Qty Price
  • Artists

  • Labels
  • Mailing List
  • Name
  • Email

Payment By RBS

Payment By Paypal





Forgot Password?

Email Address

Vicennial - 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band (Vinyl)
~ Hot 8 Brass Band

  • Label: Tru Thoughts
  • Cat Number: TRULP318

* + free album MP3 download.


Arrow Icon A1. What’s My Name? (Rock With The Hot 8) (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon A2. Sexual Healing (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon A3. Get Up (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon B1. Royal Garden BluesBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon B2. Papa Was A Rolling StoneBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon B3. Rasta Funk (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon C1. Take It To The House (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon C2. It's Real (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon D1. Just My ImaginationBuy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon D2. We Shall Walk Through The Streets Of The City Buy MP3 £0.50
Arrow Icon D3. New Orleans, After the City (20th Anniversary Version)Buy MP3 £0.50


“[Hot 8] has helped galvanise its community since 2005; captures both the edginess and transcendent beauty of life in its city” – The Wall Street Journal

“Hot 8 music is feel good music… music with a message. It’s life music.” – Hot 8 band leader, Bennie Pete

New OrleansHot 8 Brass Band toast their 20th Anniversary in typically roof-raising style, celebrating this significant and incredibly hard-won milestone with a series of releases and live dates. At the centre is the album, ‘Vicennial – 20 Years Of The Hot 8 Brass Band’ (23rd October), a mix of brand new tracks and newly recorded 20th Anniversary Versions of classic Hot 8 material which finds the band on the form of their lives.The album is preceded on 9th October by the Papa Was A Rolling Stone”/“We Shall Walk Through The Streets Of The City” single; the first taste of new Hot 8 music in two years, an upfront stream of Papa…” has met with incredible reactions and thousands of plays in a few days.

Across three albums - 2007’s ‘Rock With The Hot 8’, 2012’s Grammy-nominated ‘The Life & Times Of…’ and 2013’s ‘Tombstone’ – with a host of standout singles, including their iconic version of “Sexual Healing” alongside several other covers and equally impressive originals, Hot 8 Brass Band have told the story of their lives and their city like only they can.

One of the great New Orleans acts, Hot 8 have pushed on through a barely imaginable series of trials. The devastation of Hurricane Katrina, the separate deaths of four of their band members (trumpeter Jacob Johnson, drummer Dinerral Shavers, and trombonists Demond Dorsey and Joseph “Shotgun Joe” Williams) and the horror of trumpeter Terrell “Burger” Batiste losing his legs in a car crash, conspired to test these men almost to breaking point. They honour their fallen friends and help to work towards the future of their community by putting their energies into positive projects at home as well as touring as much as they can. They march together and they play their music - a rambunctious yet elegant and super-tight mix of jazz, funk and hip hop – not merely as though, but because their lives depend on it.

Transcending genres and trends, Hot 8’s party rocking sound and indomitable energy have become renowned across the world, with an ever-growing fanbase and media love across the spectrum from The Guardian and The Sunday Times Magazine to Esquire, BBC Radio 2 to 1Xtra, and beyond. The band and their story featured in Spike Lee’s New Orleans documentaries When The Levee Broke and The Creek Don’t Rise, as well as David Simon’s hit HBO series Treme, and they have performed with artists as diverse as The Dixie Cups, Blind Boys of Alabama, Lauryn Hill and Mos Def. One of a very few brass bands who pour as much charisma, training and talent into their vocals as their horn playing, their sound packs an almighty connective power that remains uniquely Hot 8 no matter what influences they draw on.

This album exemplifies Hot 8’s ability to honour and promote their city’s (and their own) legacy while pushing on to create a new tradition. Nowhere is this more evident that in the transition from the raucous, crowd-pleasing hip hop cut “Get Up” – one of their originals, written by Shavers, on which Big Al busts a whole new rap for this occasion – into the Big Easy standard “Royal Garden Blues”, a traditional instrumental that rolls and bubbles with vintage, Technicolor charm. “Rasta Funk” brings reggae to the streets of New Orleans; while “Take It To The House” is an impassioned rallying cry developed during the Second Line parades that followed the death of Johnson, as raw and affecting now as when it was first played almost 20 years ago; and “New Orleans (After The City)” is an ode and a commitment to their beloved hometown.

The “Vicennial…” sessions saw Hot 8 welcoming former members back into the studio as well as featuring performances by relatives of their deceased bandmates. The beautifully buoyant “We Shall Walk Through The Streets Of The City”, recorded in tribute to Joseph Williams, features his grandmother, Mrs. Betty Ann WIlliams, on lead vocals, her son (Joseph’s uncle) Herlin Riley on drums and Joseph’s brother Arian Macklin on tuba. When we talked to Betty she said, ‘I’m not singing “I’ll Fly Away” ‘cause everybody do that.’ She suggested this one, so we rolled with it, recalls band leader and tuba player Bennie Pete, adding: “Every second in that studio was magical and very emotional for everyone… I'm sure it is a moment no-one will ever let go”. Across the album, which has the feeling and momentum of a live set, these vibrant recordings capture the spirit of a community and make a statement of the band’s longevity, vitality and constant progress.

Stay In Touch

If you would like to be notified of new releases from Hot 8 Brass Band, insert your email:

More From Hot 8 Brass Band

  • Sexual Healing Image
  • Rock With The Hot 8 Image
  • Ghost Town / Let Me Do My Thing Image
  • Life And Times Of... Image
  • Ghost Town / Steamin Blues (Japanese Special Edition) Image
  • Tombstone (CD) Image
  • Milwaukee Fat Image
  • Whats My Name? Image
  • Homies / Bingo Bango Image
  • Hot 8 Remixes Image
  • Papa Was A Rolling Stone / We Will Walk Through The Streets Of The City Image
  • Sexual Healing Remixes Image
  • Sexual Healing (Record Store Day 12 Image
  • Can
  • Working Together / Keepin
  • On The Spot Image
  • On The Spot Image
  • Bottom Of The Bucket Image
  • News & Tweets